Mediocrity is worse than just being plain bad. People remember bad stuff but they forgot those in the middle. There’s a wide range of mediocre anime during 2000 to 2007 that became more obscure than something like say, Del Power Miracle or something. That’s because there are people like me and others who seek out obscure shit for the joy of it but not many people look back at these mediocre stuff.

Those who have seen these mediocre stuff such as Petopetosan and Mamoru-kun ni Megami no Shukufuku wo! are the privileged few who seen them while they air. Not many people outside of those who watch it during that era will seek these mediocre anime out after finding them in a database. I am looking through some list and found myself thinking what the hell petopetosan is when I have known fairly obscure series like Osamu Tezuka Monogataru:I am Son Goku by Rintaro.

The only reason why they were being watched is because they were on. The sad thing is those who watched them most likely have since forgotten that they even exist. Sure, people might heard of them but the image in their mind is just mushy piece of shit that couldn’t link up to anything. For example, what excatly is Avenger(that Beetrain anime) about? What the fuck it is? At least I know Call Me Tonight is this exploitative 80s ova but what the hell Avenger is? Why can’t I even remember anything about it?

You see, they have a sad fate of having no fan or being remembered in spite of all the effort they put in. It’s just miserable and I can’t help but  sympathize with their plight. Getting zero to no recognition, ceasing to exist and couldn’t escape the inevitable fate of being forgotten forever without making any mark in any person life. That’s the worst thing that can happen to anything that wanted to be an art… …

Anyway, among these mediocrities like Goshujin sama Ninomiya kun, Grenadier is the only one that I remember the most after 7 or so years. That’s because in spite of its mediocrity,  the boob reloading is something so outrageous memorable that you couldn’t forget about it after your first viewing. I guess what I am trying to say is that you really need something special so that people will remember you. It’s so entrenched into my mind that I can tell you more on what happened in Grenadier (something about cutting bullet in half, missing panties, balloon, boob reloading, hot spa, empress queen double) now than I can remember about something decent like err, House of Five Leaves( yea, what happened in this show again? Something about kidnapping and revenge against kidnapper? Did he succeed? I forgot.) I think having a non complicated plot helps a lot as well.

So next time if you intend to make something mediocre, have a memorable gimmick and make your plot so simple that it will be committed into your memory least you cease to exist in the public mind. Be Grenadier, don’t be Petopetosan.

By the way, I just finish reading the Grenadier manga and it’s awesomely trainwreck-ly rush and very different from the anime. It’s hard to believe that the anime is more competently written than the manga. Very clear that the manga is getting canceled so the author creates like 100 over plot points out of nowhere and solve them within 5 pages. Suddenly, the manga asked you to care about the origin of its main character and used solar powered MECHA Godzilla to explain it then went on wrapping it up by destroying MECHA Godzilla with boob reloading bullets.

Very ridiculous but fast paced fun. It’s like watching someone desperately salvaging a sunken ship by pumping it with steroids as if it would help and made something so crazily stupid. It’s way more memorable than the anime ending which I still remember but not too clearly( I just remember something about fake empress and bullets dropping out from cleavage which is the metaphor of how you should opening up your heart).

I have consumed so much media now that I appreciate it when I got any response or memories out of anything even if it’s not technically competent. Also, it’s not enough just by being plain bad, you need something really out there and I genuinely like Grenadier for being able to do it for me.

P.S: Some other mediocre series I have fond memories of are Myself;Yourself and 11Eyes. They have withstood the test of time and I still remember most of their plot .

